top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLola

The Most Affordable Way To Get Abstract Art

Are you looking for a nice piece to hang at home, with no luck? Is everything you find either too expensive or not your style? On top of that, the space on your wall can't wait any longer! Look no further: your answer can be only $10 away!

DIY abstract modern art ideas

How do you start an abstract painting?

Here you'll see the easiest and more affordable way. Don't worry, you don't need to be an artist.


#1 Head to a thrift shop

Who doesn't love thrift store finds? After checking many stores -many times- I decided that I was not willing to pay for an original piece of art or even a framed piece from a nice store like West Elm. I'm a big fan of HomeGoods, but everything I found looks the same: even the expensive pieces were not my style or were not the size that I needed. Plus, the frames were all plastic or wood-fake.

That was when I decided to go to a thrift shop. The old frames I saw were mostly made of wood, all mated frames, big sizes.. that could be fortune in a store!


When shopping in a thrift store, it is hard to figure those out of style pieces in your room, so try to focus on the size of the frame that you need and the style of the frame that you are looking for.

I found this pretty modern and right-sized frame (and it was 50% off, so just $10!)

DIY abstract modern art ideas

#2 Disassemble the painting

Remove the tape on the back, fold up the metal pieces that are holding the back, and separate the mat from the picture.


#3 Paint or Print

My plan was to buy and download a digital picture and print it at Staples. Then I saw a design that I liked and since it was just black lines... I couldn't wait and really, it wasn't that hard!

I used Gouache paint -because that was what I had at home- on the back of the painting that was in the frame (zero dollars!).

You can try that and if you don't like it, just order a print that you like.

DIY abstract modern art ideas

I also painted the mat white, since it was a light blue color and didn't help with the mood I was going for.


#4 Assemble it back

I didn't take a picture of this but it is basically the step #2 backwards!

Take advantage to clean the glass and frame before assembling. Then set the mat on the frame and tape the art to the mat. Place the back of the frame with all the hardware.

What do you think? I love the black and white contrasting with the wood color. And even matches my pillows!


Vertical vs horizontal art

The picture I got was a classic horizontal painting. Usually, vertical art -especially with an abstract design- will help to bring a modern vibe much better than a horizontal one.

Take a look at these two pieces of art: even though both are modern and similar designs, the vertical one seems much modern in that space. Of course, the furniture, paint color, frame, and other details are relevant too.

Credit: Anthropologie


If you are thinking about displaying a couple of art pieces in your space, take a look at this article about 'Gallery Walls: All You Need To Know'. It can help you decide how that can work specifically for your wall.


Links to Shop

Here you can find frames, paint, and even prints, in case that you don't trust your artist-self.

I independently selected these products—if you buy from one of these links, I may earn a commission.

Hoping these ideas inspire you for your next project,


Comments


bottom of page